"5. On any such readjustment the number of members for any province shall not be reduced by more than fifteen per cent below the representation to which such province was entitled under rules one to four of this subsection at the last preceding readjustment of the representation of that province, and there shall be no reduction in the representation of any province as a result of which that province would have a smaller number of members than any other province that according to the results of the then last decennial census did not have a larger population; but for the purposes of any subsequent readjustment of reprsentation under this section any increase in the number of members of the House of Commons resulting from the application of this rule shall not be included in the divisor mentioned in rules one to four of this subsection.

"6. Such readjustment shall not take effect until the termination of the then existing Parliament.

"(2) The Yukon Territory as constituted by chapter forty-one of the Statutes of Canada, 1901, shall be entitled to one member, and such other part of Canada not comprised within a province as may from time to time be defined by the Parliament of Canada shall be entitled to one member." (R.S.C. 1952, c. 304.)

The principal effect of these new rules is that the representation of any province shall not be reduced by more than 15 p.c. at any one readjustment subject however to the qualification that the rule shall not work out in such manner that the representation of a province with a smaller population shall be greater than any province with a larger population.

Subsequently Parliament enacted a measure, "An Act to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons, 1952", effective in the general election of 1953, which provided that representation in the House of Commons shall be on the following basis:—

"Sect. 2.—Eighty-five members of the House of Commons shall be elected for the Province of Ontario, seventy-five for the Province of Quebec, twelve for the Province of Nova Scotia, ten for the Province of New Brunswick, fourteen for the Province of Manitoba, twenty-two for the Province of British Columbia, four for the Province of Prince Edward Island, seventeen for the Province of Saskatchewan, seventeen for the Province of Alberta, seven for the Province of Newfoundland, one for the Yukon Territory and one for Mackenzie district of the Northwest Territories, thus making a total of two hundred and sixty-five members." (R.S.C. 1952, c. 344.)

The number of representatives of each province elected at each of the 23 general elections since Confederation is given in Table 9.

										-			
Province or Territory	1867	1872	1874 1878	1882	1887 1891	1896 1900	1904	1908 1911	1917 1921	1925 1926 1930	1935 1940 1945	1949	1953 1957
Ontario	82	88	88	92	92	92	86	86	82	82	82	83	85
Quebec	65	- 65	65	65	65	65	65	65	65	65	65	73	75
Nova Scotia	19	21	21	21	21	20	18	18	16	14	12	13	12
New Brunswick	15	16	16	16	16	14	13	13	11	11	10	10	10
Manitoba		4	4	5	5	7	10	10	15	17	17	16	14
British Columbia		6	6	6	6	6	7	7	13	14	16	18	22
Prince Edward Island			6	6	6	5	4	4	4	4	4	4	4
Saskatchewan	•••		·		h .		10	10	16	21	21	20	17
Alberta					} 4	4	Jot	7	12	16	17	17	17
Yukon)						1	1	1	1	1	1	1
Mackenzie River, N.W.T.	}	•••					1		1	1		ી	1
Newfoundland						3.5						7	7
Totals	181	200	206	211	215	213	214	221	235	245	245	262	265

9.—Representation in the House of Commons as at Federal General Elections 1867-1957